Breadcrumb

Prof. Alexandre Duchêne

© Alan Humerose

Member of the Board of Directors

Full Professor in the Sociology of language, UNIFR

Research interests

  • Language and social inequality
  • Multilingualism, school and social selection
  • Multilingualism and the workplace
  • Multilingualism, human migration and globalization
  • Language politics, linguistic minorities

Research projects (direction)

Duration

01.2021 - 12.2023

This research project performs a retrospective analysis of the challenges posed by Swiss multilingualism during the Covid-19 pandemic. Continuous communication with the population is necessary in times of crisis – indeed, communication is...

Title

Postcolonial encounters in globalisation

(Dis)entangling Portuguese-speaking migrant's social positionings in Switzerland

Duration

09.2019 - 09.2020

Lusophonia embraces different kind of groups and people.  If they share the Portuguese language, on the one hand, they do not share the same historical position on the other. This project on language, identity and labour migration attempts...

Title
Duration

01.2017 - 12.2019

How can inequalities (in terms of social class, language, ability, race, gender) be addressed in the classroom by focussing on social processes and encouraging students to reflect on possible ways of challenging them? This question is explored...

Duration

01.2017 - 12.2019

This collaborative project aims at moving beyond common and acritical assumptions about capitalism and language that tend to take them for granted, without sufficiently interrogating their historical development, their heterogeneous manifestations...

Title

A Web of Care

Linguistic resources and the management of labor in the healthcare industry

Duration

01.2015 - 09.2019

Using the healthcare industry as a site of study, this project aims to uncover the conditions in which particular configurations of language proficiency and speakers become desired commodities, as the demands of globally mobile patients are...

Duration

01.2016 - 12.2018

The purpose of this project is to conduct a detailed analysis on language census issues in Switzerland since the 19th century and to better understand the role this tool plays in the Swiss political landscape. This project will also support...

Duration

01.2016 - 12.2017

This literature review aims to present an overview of scientific research on the social, political and linguistic issues of language census by analysing international works conducted in various sociopolitical and sociolinguistic contexts....

Duration

01.2013 - 04.2016

The project examines the German-French language border in Switzerland through the analysis of touristic discourses and activities. By looking at the language border through the eyes of tourism, the project places Swiss multilingualism clearly...

Duration

09.2014 - 08.2015

In collaboration with the Federal Statistical Office (FSO) In 2010, the Federal Statistical Office (FSO) began conducting an annual population census. The data are mainly gathered from registers of residents, with additional information...

Duration

01.2013 - 12.2014

In cooperation with the University of Lausanne UNIL Today's labour market is characterised by a globalised economy with increasing immigration and mobility. Current economic, social and technological conditions have lent multilingual practices...

Title

Towards a critical pedagogy of diversity

Concepts, training and pedagogical actions

Duration

01.2010 - 12.2013

This project lays out a critical approach towards a pedagogy of diversity that takes social inequality among children as a starting point and reflects on how social processes at school transform social inequality into educational inequality....

Title

Performing Swissness

Institutions, discourse and social transformation

Duration

01.2010 - 12.2013

Work in our project “Performing Swissness: institutions, discourse and social transformation” focuses on ways in which discourse practices at Swiss institutions for culture, tourism and economic development construct a particular image of...

Title

Language courses for personnel in the Federal Administration

Evaluation and analysis of courses offered and their attendance

Duration

01.2012 - 12.2013

In the interest of advancing multilingualism in public services, the Swiss Confederation is legally bound to promoting federal employees' language skills in Switzerland's official languages. The divisions within the Federal Administration...

Duration

01.2012 - 12.2013

The goal of the project mandated by the department of education of the Canton of Geneva was to understand the role which available orientation measures, including courses, play in the scholastic and professional integration of young immigrants....

Title

Swiss Federal Administration and the representation of language communities

An analysis of processes and strategies for recruiting personnel

Duration

01.2012 - 01.2013

In Switzerland’s political dialogue, an adequate representation of Swiss language communities in the Federal Administration is considered to be a vital expression of multilingualism in Switzerland. Diverse legal bases and directives have...

Title

Multilingualism and Mobility

Linguistic practices and the construction of identity

Duration

01.2010 - 12.2012

This project focuses on the study of multilingualism from the perspective of the recent mobilities and globalisation paradigm. This paradigm takes up the analysis of linguistic practices by mobile people with transnational trajectories such...

Duration

01.2010 - 12.2011

The city Biel/Bienne is experiencing an economic boom. Alongside the traditional watch industry, Biel/Bienne has set its sights on diversification and is now exploring the service and communication sector. This recent development is particularly...

Title

The Management of Multilingualism in Institutional Sites

La Gestión del Multilinguismo en el Ámbito Institucional

Duration

01.2007 - 12.2010

The object of the present investigation is to undertake ethnographic studies at three sites: a non-governmental organization dedicated to adult education, a public hospital, and a multinational company based in Spain. The specific objectives...

Title

Languages, Identity and Tourism

A contribution towards understanding the social and linguistic challenges facing Switzerland in the context of globalisation

Duration

01.2005 - 12.2009

This project adopts a sociolinguistic approach to examine the linguistic aspects of tourism on three levels: 1. How do people deal with multilingualism in basic interaction, for example, at the airport or the tourist information desk? 2....

Duration

The project offers a space for methodological reflections about critical ethnographic sociolinguistic research based on researchers’ experiences. On a dedicated website, the team makes available a collection of personal tales about specific...

Research projects (collaboration)

Duration

09.2020 - 08.2021

As the question of the teaching-learning of French in vocational schools in Switzerland is under debate once again, it is essential to study and understand the place and role of French as a school discipline, a working tool and a subject...

Title

Cold rush

Dynamics of language and identity in expanding Arctic economics

Duration

01.2016 - 12.2020

The Cold Rush project examines the transforming Arctic North as an expanding hotspot at the juncture of economic development and cultural transformation, focusing on the ways in which language and identity matter in these processes. We have...

Publications

Pfadnavigation

Prof. Alexandre Duchêne

© Alan Humerose

Mitglied der Direktion

Ordentlicher Professor für Sprachsoziologie, Universität Freiburg

Forschungsinteressen

  • Sprache und soziale Ungleichheiten
  • Mehrsprachigkeit, Schule und soziale Selektion
  • Mehrsprachigkeit am Arbeitsplatz
  • Mehrsprachigkeit, Migration und Globalisierung
  • Sprachpolitik, insbesondere sprachliche Minderheiten

Forschungsprojekt (Leitung)

Dauer

01.2021 - 12.2023

In diesem Forschungsprojekt werden retrospektiv die Herausforderungen analysiert, welche die Schweizer Mehrsprachigkeit in der Gesundheitskrise COVID-19 mit sich bringt. Eine solche Ausnahmesituation erfordert eine permanente Kommunikation...

Titel

Postkoloniale Begegnungen in Zeiten der Globalisierung

Ver- und Entflechtungen sozialer Positionierungen von lusophonen Migrantinnen und Migranten in der Schweiz

Dauer

09.2019 - 09.2020

Die Lusophonie umfasst verschiedene Arten von Gruppen und Menschen, die zwar die portugiesische Sprache, jedoch historisch gesehen nicht die gleiche Position teilen. Das vorliegende Projekt zu Sprache, Identität und Arbeitsmigration versucht,...

Titel

Ungleichheiten im Klassenzimmer problematisieren

Ein pädagogischer Themenkoffer

Dauer

01.2017 - 12.2019

Wie können Ungleichheiten (soziale Klasse, Sprache, Begabung, Rasse oder Geschlecht) im Unterricht angegangen werden, indem man sich auf soziale Prozesse konzentriert und die Schülerinnen und Schüler ermutigt, über mögliche Ansätze nachzudenken?...

Dauer

01.2017 - 12.2019

Diese Zusammenarbeit zielt darauf ab, über gängige und akritische Annahmen zu Kapitalismus und Sprache hinauszugehen, die oft als selbstverständlich hingenommen werden, ohne dass ihre historische Entwicklung, ihre heterogenen Erscheinungsformen...

Titel

A Web of Care

Sprachliche Ressourcen und Personalmanagement in der Gesundheitsindustrie

Dauer

01.2015 - 09.2019

Am Beispiel der Gesundheitsindustrie soll untersucht werden, unter welchen Bedingungen ein bestimmtes Zusammenspiel von Sprechenden und Sprachkenntnissen bei der Berücksichtigung von Anforderungen und Bedürfnissen global mobiler oder migrierender...

Dauer

01.2016 - 12.2018

In diesem Projekt werden die Herausforderungen rund um statistische Erhebungen zu Sprachen in der Schweiz seit dem 19. Jahrhundert im Detail analysiert, um zu einem besseren Verständnis der wichtigen Rolle dieses Instruments in der Schweizer...

Dauer

01.2016 - 12.2017

Diese Literaturübersicht soll den Stand der Forschung zu sozialen, politischen und linguistischen Herausforderungen von statistischen Erhebungen zu Sprachen vorstellen und internationale Studien analysieren, die in unterschiedlichen gesellschaftspolitischen...

Dauer

01.2013 - 04.2016

Das Projekt betrachtet die deutsch-französische Sprachgrenze in der Schweiz, indem es ihre Verwendung in touristischen Diskursen und Aktivitäten untersucht. Dieser Blick auf die Sprachgrenze verankert die Schweizer Mehrsprachigkeit im Kontext...

Dauer

09.2014 - 08.2015

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bundesamt für Statistik (BFS) Seit 2010 führt das BFS die Volkszählung im Einjahresrhythmus durch, wobei die Informationen primär den Einwohnerregistern entnommen und mit Stichprobenerhebungen ergänzt werden. In...

Dauer

01.2013 - 12.2014

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Universität Lausanne UNIL Die heutige Arbeitswelt wird durch eine globalisierte Wirtschaft, zunehmende Migration und Mobilität geprägt. Mehrsprachige Praktiken werden in diesem neuen wirtschaftlichen, gesellschaftlichen...

Titel

Für eine kritische Pädagogik der Vielfalt

Konzepte, Ausbildung und pädagogisches Handeln

Dauer

01.2010 - 12.2013

Ziel des Projektes ist es, einen kritischen Ansatz für eine Pädagogik der Vielfalt vorzuschlagen, der von den sozialen Ungleichheiten der Kinder ausgeht und sich bewusst ist, dass diese in sozialen Prozessen durch die Schule in Bildungsungleichheiten...

Dauer

01.2012 - 12.2013

Die von der Bildungsdirektion des Kantons Genf mandatierte Aktionsforschung hatte zum Ziel, die Rolle der Aufnahmestruktur bei der schulischen- und beruflichen Eingliederung von jungen Migrantinnen und Migranten zu verstehen. Ausserdem wollte...

Titel

Sprachkurse für Mitarbeitende der Bundesverwaltung

Evaluation und Analyse des Angebotes und dessen Nutzung

Dauer

01.2012 - 12.2013

Der Bund hat einen gesetzlichen Auftrag, die Kenntnisse seines Personals in den Landessprachen zu fördern, um die Mehrsprachigkeit im öffentlichen Dienst zu unterstützen. Die Verwaltungseinheiten haben dafür zu sorgen, dass alle Angestellten...

Titel

Performing Swissness

Institutionen, Diskurse und soziale Transformationen

Dauer

01.2010 - 12.2013

In unserem Forschungsprojekt „Performing Swissness: Institutionen, Diskurse und soziale Transformationen“ untersuchen wir, wie Institutionen der Kultur-, Tourismus- und Wirtschaftsförderung mittels ihrer diskursiven Praktiken ein bestimmtes...

Titel

Bundesverwaltung und Vertretung der Sprachgemeinschaften

Analyse der Personalrekrutierungsprozesse und -strategien

Dauer

01.2012 - 01.2013

Eine angemessene Vertretung der Sprachgemeinschaften in der eidgenössischen Verwaltung gilt im politischen Diskurs als wichtiger Ausdruck der schweizerischen Mehrsprachigkeit. Verschiedene Gesetzesgrundlagen und Weisungen sind erlassen worden,...

Titel

Mehrsprachigkeit und Mobilität

Sprachpraktiken und Konstruktion von Identität

Dauer

01.2010 - 12.2012

In diesem Projekt soll Mehrsprachigkeit aus Sicht des aktuellen Mobilitäts- und Globalisierungsparadimas untersucht werden. Dabei sollen Sprachpraktiken von Menschen mit transnationalen Trajektorien untersucht werden wie etwa MigrantInnen...

Dauer

01.2010 - 12.2011

Die Stadt Biel-Bienne befindet sich im wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung. Neben der Uhrenindustrie, die traditionellerweise in der Region verankert ist, hat sich die Stadt der Diversifizierung verschrieben und sich so auch für den Dienstleistungs-...

Titel

Management von Mehrsprachigkeit im institutionellen Umfeld

La Gestión del Multilinguismo en el Ámbito Institucional

Dauer

01.2007 - 12.2010

Im Rahmen des Projekts werden drei ethnographische Feldstudien durchgeführt: an einer nichtstaatlichen Institution für Erwachsenenbildung, einem öffentlichen Spital und einem multinationalen Unternehmen mit Sitz in Spanien. Die Ziele des...

Titel

Sprachen, Identitäten und Tourismus

Ein Beitrag zum Verständnis sozialer und sprachlicher Herausforderungen in der Schweiz im Kontext der Globalisierung

Dauer

01.2005 - 12.2009

Das Projekt untersucht aus soziolinguistischer Perspektive die sprachlichen Aspekte des Tourismus auf drei Ebenen: 1. Wie wird mit Mehrsprachigkeit in Interaktionen (z.B. am Flughafen oder auf der Touristeninformation) umgegangen? 2. Wie...

Dauer

Ziel des Projekts ist es, methodologische Reflexionen zu kritisch-ethnografischer soziolinguistischer Forschung zusammenzutragen, die auf den gelebten Erfahrungen von Forscher*innen basieren. Auf der Projekt-Website beleuchten die Forscher*innen...

Forschungsprojekt (Mitarbeit)

Dauer

09.2020 - 08.2021

In einer Zeit, in der das Lehren und Lernen der französischen Sprache an den kaufmännischen Schulen in der Schweiz erneut zur Diskussion steht, ist es von grundlegender Bedeutung, die Entwicklung des Stellenwerts und der Rolle von Sprachen...

Titel

Cold rush

Dynamik von Sprache und Identität bei der Expansion der arktischen Wirtschaft

Dauer

01.2016 - 12.2020

Das Cold Rush-Projekt untersucht den sich wandelnden arktischen Norden als expandierenden Hotspot an der Schnittstelle von wirtschaftlicher Entwicklung und kultureller Transformation. Es konzentriert sich dabei auf die Frage, inwiefern Sprache...

Publikationen