Breadcrumb

Prof. Thomas Studer

© Alan Humerose

Director

Full Professor for German as a Foreign Language/German as a Second Language at the University of Fribourg

Research interests

  • Corpus-based language acquisition research (cf. SWIKO - multilingual Swiss learner corpus, web application under development: https://swikoweb.plurilinguisme.ch )
  • Research on language teaching and learning, main focus on research methods
  • Foreign language and multilingualism didactics with special emphasis on German as a foreign language and German as a second language, main focus: Task-based language learning and teaching (TBLT), data-driven learning (DDL), cultural studies and language learning, German as pluricentric language
  • Language testing, main focus: Standardised and teaching-oriented assessment of linguistic and cultural competences (primarly in school settings), test development and validation, evaluation of teaching and classroom practices.

Research projects (direction)

Duration

03.2016 - 12.2024

SWIKO is a multilingual learner corpus describing learner language according to principles of corpus-linguistics. The corpus is an umbrella project developed during the 2016–2019 research period and being further developed in the 2021–2024...

Title

WETLAND

Further development and applications of the Swiss learner corpus SWIKO

Duration

07.2021 - 07.2024

In line with the strong presence of usage-based approaches to language description and research in language acquisition, research in corpus linguistics has intensified and diversified in recent years. This applies equally to corpus-based...

Duration

01.2018 - 12.2020

Literacy courses designed for adult migrants have been offered for decades in countries experiencing significant immigration. The recent past has seen an increase in research on the teaching and learning processes that are involved in successful...

Duration

01.2018 - 12.2019

The main goal of this project is to compile an inventory of existing corpora containing productions of learners of German and French as a foreign language; a further objective is defining gaps and needs in this area.  

Title

Competences in French as a foreign language in the Passepartout region

A systematic evaluation of current studies on the use of Mille feuilles und Clin d'oeil

Duration

09.2019 - 12.2019

The basis of this report, commissioned by the association BERNbilingue, is a systematic evaluation of current studies on French as a foreign language lessons at primary and secondary schools that use the Mille feuilles and Clin d'oeil learning...

Title

Learning Spanish as a minority language in the french speaking and swiss-german speaking part of Switzerland

A study of writing competences of children with Spanish speaking origins

Duration

01.2015 - 12.2016

The aim of this project is to study the linguistic competences of bilingual children when producing written texts in Spanish. The participant children attend heritage language and culture (HLC) courses. The main research question is: How...

Duration

01.2011 - 12.2014

Swiss National Science Foundation, project funding, Project no. 135407 The aim of this project is to develop basic standards for the languages taught at schools where Rhaeto-Romanic is spoken (i.e. Rumantsch Grischun (RG) and German). The...

Title

Multilingual sequences in history lessons

Processes used to solve intercomprehension tasks and appropriate learner profiles

Duration

01.2012 - 12.2014

The goal of the project "Multilingual sequences in history lessons: processes to solve intercomprehension tasks and appropriate learner profiles" was twofold: First, the project adjusted worksheets designed in the context of materials development...

Duration

12.2010

From 2006 to 2009, an official proposal for Swiss educational standards was formulated within the framework of the project HarmoS of the EDK. After concluding the political consultations, the standards required finalisation. To do so, the...

Duration

01.2002 - 12.2010

The three German-speaking countries in Europe have developed a cooperation to revise and develop international diplomas for German as a foreign or second language – a very interesting topic for and in Switzerland. The University of Fribourg...

Duration

05.2008 - 06.2009

In this project, commissioned by NWEDK, EDK Ost and BKZ, suitable lingualevel test packages were compiled to test the levels of the foreign languages French and English in public schools in the German-speaking cantons, years 6 through 9....

Title

International foreign language certificate

Zertifikat Deutsch für Jugendliche (ZD j)/German certificate for young people at Swiss public schools: Innovation and evaluation

Duration

06.2006 - 12.2008

This practical research project, commissioned by the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (EDK), grants interested Swiss schools access to the internationally recognised certificate Deutsch for Jugendliche ZD j (German for...

Publications

Pfadnavigation

Prof. Thomas Studer

© Alan Humerose

Direktor

Ordentlicher Professor für Deutsch als Fremdsprache / Deutsch als Zweitsprache der Universität Freiburg

Forschungsinteressen

  • Korpusbasierte Spracherwerbsforschung (vgl. SWIKO – mehrsprachiges Schweizer Lernerkorpus, Webapplikation im Aufbau: https://swikoweb.plurilinguisme.ch)
  • Sprachlehr- und Sprachlernforschung, Schwerpunkt Forschungsmethoden
  • Fremdsprachen- und Mehrsprachigkeitsdidaktik mit besonderem Akzent auf DaF und DaZ, Schwerpunkte: Task-based language learning and teaching (TBLT), korpusorientiertes Sprachenlehren und -lernen (DDL), Landeskunde/Kulturvermittlung und Plurizentrik des Deutschen
  • Testen und Prüfen, Schwerpunkte: Standardisierte und unterrichtsnahe Beurteilung von sprachlichen und kulturellen Kompetenzen (Fokus Schule), Testentwicklung und -validierung, Evaluation von Unterrichtspraktiken und Sprachprogrammen

Forschungsprojekt (Leitung)

Dauer

03.2016 - 12.2024

SWIKO ist ein mehrsprachiges Lernerkorpus, das den Spracherwerb von Lernenden nach korpuslinguistischen Grundsätzen beschreibt. Es handelt sich um ein Dachprojekt, das in der Forschungsperiode 2016-2019 entwickelt wurde, in der Periode 2021-2024...

Titel

WETLAND

Weiterentwicklung und Anwendungen des Schweizer Lernerkorpus SWIKO

Dauer

07.2021 - 07.2024

Parallel zur starken Präsenz gebrauchsbasierter Ansätze in Sprachbeschreibung und Spracherwerbsforschung hat sich korpuslinguistische Forschung in den letzten Jahren intensiviert und diversifiziert. Das gilt sowohl für die korpusbasierte...

Dauer

01.2018 - 12.2020

Alphabetisierungskurse für die Zielgruppe der erwachsenen Migrant/innen werden in Ländern mit einer bedeutenden Zuwanderung bereits seit Jahrzehnten angeboten. Die Erforschung der Lehr- und Lernprozesse, die bei der erfolgreichen und nachhaltigen...

Titel

Kompetenzen in Französisch als Fremdsprache in den Passepartout-Kantonen

Systematische Auswertung vorliegender Studien zum schulischen Französischunterricht mit Mille feuilles und Clin d'oeil

Dauer

09.2019 - 12.2019

Dieser vom Verein BERNbilingue in Auftrag gegebene Bericht basiert auf einer systematischen Auswertung vorliegender Studien zum schulischen Französischunterricht mit Mille feuilles und Clin d'oeil. Er verfolgt das Ziel, zu den folgenden drei...

Dauer

01.2018 - 12.2019

Ziel der Arbeiten ist die Erstellung eines Inventars zu existierenden Korpora, welche Produktionen von DaF- und FLE-Lernenden umfassen, sowie die Eruierung von Lücken und Bedürfnissen in diesem Bereich.

Titel

Das Erlernen der spanischen Sprache als Minderheitensprache in Schweizerdeutschen und Französischen Kontexten:

Eine Studie über die Schreibfähigkeiten von Kindern mit spanischen Wurzeln

Dauer

01.2015 - 12.2016

Das Ziel der Studie ist es, die sprachlichen Fähigkeiten von zweisprachigen Kindern in der schriftlichen Produktion von Texten auf Spanisch zu untersuchen. Die an der Studie teilnehmenden Kinder besuchen Spanischkurse, welche Teil des Unterrichts...

Dauer

01.2011 - 12.2014

Schweizerischer Nationalfonds, Projektförderung, Projekt Nr. 135407 Das Projekt sieht vor, für die Schulsprachen der Rätoromanen (Rumantsch Grischun (RG) und Deutsch) Basisstandards zu erarbeiten, wie dies in der Schweiz für das Deutsche,...

Titel

Mehrsprachigkeitssequenzen im Geschichtsunterricht

Prozesse beim Lösen von Interkomprehensionsaufgaben und geeignete Profile von Lernenden

Dauer

01.2012 - 12.2014

Ziel des Projekts „Mehrsprachigkeitssequenzen im Geschichtsunterricht: Prozesse beim Lösen von Interkomprehensionsaufgaben und geeignete Profile von Lernenden“ war zweifach: Einerseits sollten Arbeitsblätter, die 2009 im Rahmen von Materialentwicklungen...

Dauer

01.2002 - 12.2010

Im Trinationalen Kooperationsprojekt zur Revision und Entwicklung internationaler Diplome für Deutsch als Fremdsprache, die auch für die Schweiz und in der Schweiz Bedeutung haben, arbeitet die Universität Freiburg im Auftrag der Schweizerischen...

Dauer

12.2010

In den Jahren 2006 bis 2009 wurde im Rahmen des Projekts HarmoS der EDK ein Expertenvorschlag für Schweizerische Bildungsstandards ausgearbeitet. Nach Abschluss des politischen Konsultationsprozesses mussten diese Standards finalisiert werden....

Dauer

05.2008 - 06.2009

Im Auftrag der NWEDK, der EDK Ost und der BKZ wurden im Projekt geeignete Testpakete aus lingualevel zusammengestellt und erprobt, die von den Deutschschweizer Kantonen für Standortbestimmungen in den Fremdsprachen Französisch und Englisch...

Titel

Internationales Fremdsprachenzertifikat

Zertifikat Deutsch für Jugendliche (ZD j) an öffentlichen Schweizer Schulen: Innovation und begleitende Evaluation

Dauer

06.2006 - 12.2008

Im Auftrag der Schweizerischen Konferenz der kantonalen Erziehungsdirektoren EDK wird im Rahmen dieses angewandten Forschungsprojekts interessierten Schweizer Schulen das international anerkannte Zertifikat Deutsch für Jugendliche (ZD j,...

Publikationen