Breadcrumb

Katharina Karges

Research assistant

Research interests

  • Assessment of foreign language competences and test validity
  • Foreign Language Teaching in schools
  • Individual multilingualism

Research projects (collaboration)

Duration

03.2016 - 12.2024

SWIKO is a multilingual learner corpus describing learner language according to principles of corpus-linguistics. The corpus is an umbrella project developed during the 2016–2019 research period and being further developed in the 2021–2024...

Duration

01.2018 - 12.2020

The Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (EDK) planned to verify how well students are mastering the Basic Competences (educational standards) in foreign languages for the second time in spring 2020. Due to the covid-19 pandemic,...

Title

Innovative forms of assessment

In-depth study on competence-based assessment of receptive skills

Duration

01.2016 - 12.2019

If the aim is to measure how well learners can actually use a foreign language, then competence-oriented testing with near-authentic tasks is the method of choice. There is, however, a need for renewal in the design of such test tasks, especially...

Duration

01.2018 - 12.2019

The aim of this project is the empirically-based development of assessments to test the profession-specific language skills in teachers of French, English and Italian as a foreign language in primary and secondary schools. The main starting...

Duration

04.2015 - 06.2018

Commissioned by:  Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (EDK) In the spring of 2017, the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education conducted the first ever largescale assessment to measure how well students have acquired...

Duration

01.2014 - 12.2016

In the spring of 2017, the CDIP/EDK assessed for the first time the basic skills in the first foreign language of schoolchildren at the end of primary school. On the basis of this assessment, the “Passepartout cantons” (the six cantons on...

Title

Mapping developmental profiles in early language learning at school

Assessment tools as a link between education standards, curricula, teaching and learning

Duration

01.2012 - 12.2014

In collaboration with the University of Teacher Education St. Gallen (PHSG) and the Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI)

Pfadnavigation

Katharina Karges

wissenschaftliche/r Mitarbeiter/in

Forschungsinteressen

  • Erhebung von Fremdsprachenkompetenzen und Testvalidität
  • Schulischer Fremdsprachenunterricht
  • Individuelle Mehrsprachigkeit

Forschungsprojekt (Mitarbeit)

Dauer

03.2016 - 12.2024

SWIKO ist ein mehrsprachiges Lernerkorpus, das den Spracherwerb von Lernenden nach korpuslinguistischen Grundsätzen beschreibt. Es handelt sich um ein Dachprojekt, das in der Forschungsperiode 2016-2019 entwickelt wurde, in der Periode 2021-2024...

Dauer

01.2018 - 12.2020

Die EDK plante, im Frühjahr 2020 zum zweiten Mal das Erreichen der Grundkompetenzen in den Fremdsprachen zu überprüfen. Aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie waren Präsenzveranstaltungen in den Schulen von Mitte März bis Mitte Mai bekanntlich verboten...

Dauer

01.2018 - 12.2019

Ziel des Projektes ist die empiriegestützte Entwicklung von Prüfungen zum Nachweis der berufsspezifischen Sprachkompetenzen von Lehrpersonen der Primar- und der Sekundarstufe I für die Fremdsprachen Französisch und Englisch. Wichtigste Ausgangspunkte...

Titel

Innovative Formen der Beurteilung

Vertiefungsstudie zur kompetenzorientierten Leistungsbeurteilung im rezeptiven Bereich

Dauer

01.2016 - 12.2019

Wenn das Ziel darin besteht zu messen, wie gut Lernende eine Fremdsprache tatsächlich verwenden können, dann gilt das sogenannte kompetenzorientierte Testen mit nah-authentischen Handlungsaufgaben (tasks) als Methode der Wahl. Bei der Ausgestaltung...

Dauer

04.2015 - 06.2018

Auftraggeber: Schweizerische Konferenz der kantonalen Erziehungsdirektoren (EDK) Im Frühjahr 2017 führte die Schweizerische Konferenz der kantonalen Erziehungsdirektoren (EDK) erstmals eine Leistungsmessung durch, bei der überprüft wurde,...

Dauer

01.2014 - 12.2016

Im Frühjahr 2017 lässt die EDK erstmals die Erreichung der Grundkompetenzen in der ersten Schulfremdsprache überprüfen, und zwar am Ende der Primarstufe. Darauf aufbauend führen die „Passepartout“-Kantone (die sechs Kantone an der Sprachgrenze...

Titel

Erfassung von Entwicklungsprofilen im frühen schulischen Fremdsprachenlernen

Beurteilungsinstrumente als Bindeglied zwischen Standards, Curricula, Unterricht und Lernen

Dauer

01.2012 - 12.2014

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Pädagogischen Hochschule St. Gallen (PHSG) und der Scuola universitaria professionale della Svizzera Italiana (SUPSI)Das Projekt „Erfassung von Entwicklungsprofilen“ will im Kontext des Fremdsprachenunterrichts auf...