Breadcrumb

Organisation

Institute of Multilingualism

The Institute of Multilingualism is committed to research in the field of multilingualism in all its many facets: linguistic, social, political, economic and pedagogical. As an independent research institution, the Institute conducts basic research and addresses pressing issues and events related to multilingualism. The findings from basic and applied research serve to enrich academic and societal debate on multilingualism and in general to advance multilingualism as a field of research. In all projects, collaboration with national and international stakeholders and the public sector forms an integral part of the Institute’s approach.

Priority research areas include education, human migration, the workplace and institutions as well as methods to evaluate language competence. Institute researchers conduct in-house research projects and participate in national and international programmes; they also take on third-party research and development projects. In addition to research, the Institute participates in doctoral programmes and is an important point of contact for information on multilingualism.

Founded in 2008, the Institute of Multilingualism is operated jointly by the University of Fribourg and the University of Teacher Education Fribourg and affiliated with both institutions.

The Institute has managed the federally funded Research Centre on Multilingualism since 2011, the year of the Centre’s establishment. Together with the University of Teacher Education Fribourg, the Institute is also responsible for operating the Centre for Foreign Language Pedagogy, which was founded in 2019.

The Institute collaborates with the following institutions:

Governing bodies

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for managing the Institute’s research activities as well as its administrative duties. The Board defines the roster of activities, determines the budget, approves the annual financial statements and oversees the annual report. In addition to hiring staff, the Board concludes contracts on behalf of the Institute and decides on the modalities of research mandates. The Board is made up of the following members:

  • Professor Thomas Studer, (director), University of Fribourg
  • Professor Raphael Berthele, University of Fribourg
  • Professor Alexandre Duchêne, University of Teacher Education Fribourg
  • Professor Anita Thomas, University of Fribourg
  • Susanne Obermayer, Institute of Multilingualism

Institute Council

The Institute Council is made up of members delegated by the University of Fribourg and the University of Teacher Education Fribourg, the two sponsoring institutions. The Council is responsible for planning, determining and overseeing the Institute’s general activities. It decides on strategic issues and it authorises the budget, the annual financial statements, the annual report and agreements with other institutions. The Council is made up of the following members:

  • TBA (President), University of Teacher Education Fribourg
  • Professor Katharina M. Fromm (Vice-president), Vice-rector University of Fribourg
  • Dr Renata Coray, Institute of Multilingualims (representative of non-professoral academic staff), University of Fribourg
  • Professor Winfried Kronig, University of Fribourg
  • Professor Didier Maillat, University of Fribourg
  • Dr Bertrand Forclaz, University of Teacher Education Fribourg
  • Aynur Demir Uner, University of Fribourg, AGEF (student representative)

Foundation council:

The Foundation for Research and Development of Multilingualism of the Canton of Fribourg has supported the Institute since its establishment in 2008 and secures its core funding. As such, the Foundation was instrumental in making IOM possible. The Foundation Council meets twice yearly for a briefing on the Institute’s activities and to advise where necessary. It is made up of the following members:

  • Jean-Pierre Siggen, (President), Cantonal Councilmember and Director of Education, Culture and Sport
  • Laurent Yerly, Cantonal Treasurer
  • Professor Katharina Fromm, Vice Rector of the University of Fribourg
  • TBA, University of Teacher Education Fribourg
  • Professor Claude Regamey MD, Adolphe Merkle Foundation
  • Professor Johannes Flury, President Lia Rumantscha
Associated members

Dr. Claudine Brohy
Prof. Helen Christen
Dr. Bertrand Forclaz
Prof. Matthias Grünert
Prof. em. Walter Haas
Prof. Richard Huyghe
Prof. Winfried Kronig
Prof. Didier Maillat
Prof. Tania Ogay
Dr. Romain Racine
Prof. em. Dr. Günther Schneider
Prof. Damir Skenderovic
Dr. Mariana Steiner
Prof. Muriel Surdez
Barbara Tscharner

Research Centre on Multilingualism

At the Research Centre on Multilingualism (RCM), the Institute conducts applied research on behalf of the Swiss Confederation to benefit the academic community as well as persons in professional practice and public administration. The research projects at RCM pursue a wide range of objectives: the establishment of basic principles or criteria for decisions; research-based development of (classroom) materials; evaluation of programmes and materials/textbooks; compilation of synthesis reports on current research in selected areas; and conducting research commissioned by third parties.

To realise these projects, RCM works with research partners from all language regions in Switzerland. To promote collaboration and dialogue with other persons and organisations interested in the field of multilingualism, RCM regularly invites researchers to talks and discussions and is active in professional associations.

RCM is also active in service provision: the staff compile and document academic findings and materials on the topic of multilingualism, and are a point of contact for persons seeking information on multilingualism. All RCM documentation is available online or on site at the Library for foreign languages and multilingualism.

RCM is supported by an advisory committee whose members are appointed by the Swiss government. The committee is made up of representatives from relevant federal offices and the Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education, and is charged with assessing RCM’s research programme. In addition, RCM is advised by an international academic advisory board that regularly evaluates the Centre’s research activities.

Since its foundation in 2011, RCM operates on the basis of numerous long-term performance agreements with the federal government in which the research mandate is specified.

Statutes and annual reports

Fil d'Ariane

Organisation

Institut de plurilinguisme

L'Institut de plurilinguisme (IDP) est un institut de recherche indépendant qui se consacre à l’étude du plurilinguisme dans ses composantes sociales, linguistiques, politiques, économiques, d'enseignement et d'apprentissage. Il réalise des projets de recherche fondamentale et s’attache aussi, au travers de la recherche appliquée, à traiter des sujets d’actualité, parfois brûlants. Son objectif est d’apporter sa contribution aux débats scientifiques et sociaux autour du plurilinguisme et à l’avancée des recherches dans ce domaine. La coopération avec des acteurs nationaux et internationaux, ainsi qu’avec le secteur public, tient de toute évidence une place importante dans son activité.

Les recherches de l’IDP portent en priorité sur les domaines de l’école et de l’enseignement, la migration, le monde du travail et les institutions ainsi que sur l’évaluation des compétences langagières. Il conduit des projets de recherche propres, participe à des projets nationaux et internationaux et réalise des mandats de recherche et de développements externes. Il est également engagé dans la formation au niveau doctoral et agit comme un centre d’information pour les questions ayant trait au plurilinguisme.

Fondé en 2008, l’IDP est un institut interinstitutionnel, rattaché à la fois à l’Université de Fribourg et la HEP|PH FR. Il gère, depuis 2011, le Centre scientifique de compétence sur le plurilinguisme qui est financé par la Confédération et, depuis 2019, le Centre de didactique des langues étrangères (CeDiLE), en collaboration avec la HEP|PH FR.

L’IDP collabore avec les institutions suivantes :

Organes

Conseil de direction

Le conseil de direction assure la direction scientifique et administrative de l’Institut. Il est responsable d’établir le programme de travail, le budget, les comptes et le rapport annuel. Il s’occupe également de l’engagement des collaborateurs et collaboratrices, conclut des contrats au nom de l’Institut et décide des mandats qui seront réalisés. Le conseil de direction réunit :

Conseil de l’Institut 

Le conseil de l’Institut est composé des délégués des deux institutions qui portent conjointement l’Institut, soit la HEP|PH FR et l’Université de Fribourg. Le conseil de l’Institut planifie et détermine dans les grandes lignes l’activité de l’IDP et en assure le suivi. Ainsi, il prend entre autres les décisions stratégiques concernant les orientations et les activités de l’Institut, approuve le budget, les comptes et le rapport annuel et les contrats de coopération avec d’autres institutions. Ses membres sont :

  • NN (président-e), HEP|PH FR
  • Prof. Katharina M. Fromm (vice-présidente), vice-rectrice Université de Fribourg
  • Dr. Bertrand Forclaz, HEP|PH FR
  • Prof. Christelle HayozHEP|PH FR
  • Prof. Winfried Kronig, Université de Fribourg
  • Prof. Didier Maillat, Université de Fribourg
  • Dr. Renata Coray, Institut de plurilinguisme (corps intermédiaire)
  • Aynur Demir Uner, Université de Fribourg, AGEF (représentante des étudiants)

Conseil de fondation

La Fondation pour la recherche et le développement du plurilinguisme du canton de Fribourg soutient l'IDP depuis sa création en 2008. Elle assure notamment son financement de base, rendant ainsi possible son développement. Le Conseil de fondation se réunit deux fois par an pour prendre connaissance des activités de l'Institut et le conseiller. Les membres du conseil de fondation sont les suivants :

  • Jean-Pierre Siggen, (président), conseiller d'Etat, Directeur de l'Instruction publique, de la culture et du sport
  • Laurent Yerly, Trésorier d'Etat
  • Prof. Katharina Fromm, (vice-présidente), vice-rectrice, Université de Fribourg
  • NN, HEP|PH FR
  • Prof. Dr. méd. Claude Regamey, Fondation Adolphe Merkle
  • Prof. Johannes Flury, Président Lia Rumantscha
Membres associés

Dr. Claudine Brohy
Prof. Helen Christen
Dr. Bertrand Forclaz
Prof. Matthias Grünert
Prof. em. Walter Haas
Prof. Richard Huyghe
Prof. Winfried Kronig
Prof. Didier Maillat
Prof. Tania Ogay
Dr. Romain Racine
Prof. em. Dr. Günther Schneider
Prof. Damir Skenderovic
Dr. Mariana Steiner
Prof. Muriel Surdez
Barbara Tscharner

Centre scientifique de compétence sur le plurilinguisme

L’IDP dirige le Centre scientifique de compétence sur le plurilinguisme (CSP), un mandat que lui a confié la Confédération suisse. Les activités de recherche réalisées dans le cadre du CSP s'adressent tant à la communauté scientifique qu'aux personnes issues de la pratique et de l'administration publique. Les objectifs poursuivis sont divers : il peut s’agir de développer des connaissances fondamentales ou des bases décisionnelles, de préparer des synthèses de la littérature faisant le point sur l’état de la recherche dans certains domaines, d’évaluer par exemple des programmes et/ou du matériel, ou de réaliser des mandats pour le compte de tiers.

Bon nombre de ces projets sont menés en collaboration avec des partenaires de recherche issus de toutes les régions linguistiques. Et pour promouvoir encore davantage les échanges scientifiques, le CSP invite régulièrement des chercheur-e-s à donner des conférences ou participer à des groupes de discussion et il s'engage auprès d’associations professionnelles.

Le CSP agit en outre comme un prestataire de services : il réunit et documente les résultats et matériels produits par la recherche scientifique dans le domaine du plurilinguisme (qu’il met à la disposition des chercheur-e-s notamment) et répond aux questions d’un large public. La documentation du CSP est accessible en ligne ou auprès de la Bibliothèque des langues étrangères et du plurilinguisme de l'Université de Fribourg.

Le CSP est soutenu par un groupe d’accompagnement dont les membres représentent les offices fédéraux concernés ainsi que la Conférence suisse des directeurs cantonaux de l'instruction publique (CDIP). Son rôle est notamment de se prononcer sur le programme de recherche du CSP. Ce dernier est aussi suivi par un conseil scientifique qui évalue périodiquement ses activités de recherche.

Depuis sa création en 2011, le CSP fonctionne sur la base de contrats de prestations pluriannuels signés avec la Confédération, dans lesquels sont également fixés de manière plus précise les objectifs de recherche.

Statuts et rapports annuels

 Rapport annuels :

2020 (11.45 Mo)
2019 (3.27 Mo)
2018 (2.09 Mo)
2017 (1.58 Mo)
2016 (1.13 Mo)
2015 (504.17 Ko)
2014 (952.19 Ko)
2013 (684.18 Ko)
2012 (850.14 Ko)
2011 (909.47 Ko)
2010 (868.77 Ko)
2009 (745.34 Ko)
2008 (411.7 Ko)