Breadcrumb

Prof. Raphael Berthele

© Alan Humerose

Member of the Board of Directors

Full Professor of Multilingualism, University of Fribourg

Research interests

  • Multilingualism: intercomprehension, receptive competences, cross-linguistic interaction
  • Cognitive linguistics
  • Variational linguistics
  • Folk linguistics

Research projects (direction)

Duration

01.2021 - 12.2024

Vocabulary is the basis for receptive and productive language use. Influential theories on second language acquisition and learning consider vocabulary and grammar to be complementary, rather than opposing elements of language. Vocabulary...

Duration

04.2021 - 12.2024

Digital translation tools and dictionaries have become an indispensable part of language use. DeepL, Leo and Co. are used extensively and for various purposes, however, their benefits for foreign language teaching and learning remain contested....

Duration

11.2020 - 05.2024

This exploratory project addresses the question of the origins of individual differences in language aptitude, at different levels of language processing including but not limited to native language phonological, lexical and syntactic processing....

Title

Information structure in bilingual speakers

Cross-linguistic influences and language dominance

Duration

01.2017 - 12.2021

Swiss National Science Foundation, project funding, project no. 176338 The aim of the project is to examine the different ways in which French, German and Italian speakers achieve cohesion in narrative spoken discourse. Our approach is derived...

Duration

01.2017 - 03.2021

The potential to learn foreign languages varies from one individual to the next and has been investigated by many researchers as of the early 1950s. Individuals’ ability to learn foreign languages relies on various elements that have been...

Title

Motion at the linguistic border

On the influence of language dominance and language mode on the expression of motion in bilinguals (French-German)

Duration

01.2014 - 12.2017

In the past 30 years, research on the linguistic expression of spatial relations has shed light on systematic structural and lexical differences between languages. One such difference concerns how some Romance and Germanic languages (e.g....

Duration

01.2017 - 12.2017

The standing of German in the Canton and City of Fribourg has been a topic of public debate for decades. Currently, French and German are official languages of the canton, and their use is anchored in the constitution; moreover, it is possible...

Title

Language of origin and language at school

Are language skills transferable?

Duration

01.2012 - 12.2014

The project "Language of origin and language at school: are language skills transferable?" was initiated to explore potential transfers between the language of origin and the language spoken at school in schoolchildren who attend heritage...

Duration

01.2013 - 12.2014

Project conducted by the University of Teacher Education Graubünden PHGR The project "Rumantsch receptiv" was created to develop teaching material for independent study and/or use in language courses. The goal of the project was to design...

Title

Evolution of Semantic Systems EoSS

A joint research initiative of the Evolutionary Processes in Language and Culture Group and the project Categories across Language and Cognition, Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, Nijmegen

Duration

01.2011 - 12.2013

A joint research initiative of the Evolutionary Processes in Language and Culture Group and the project Categories across Language and Cognition, Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics, Nijmegen The main aim of the EoSS project is to...

Duration

01.2012 - 12.2013

Concluded at the end of 2013, the project "Italiano ricettivo" developed the teaching material Capito?, which is intended for use either in classroom settings or as self-study tools. The aim of  Capito? is the development of receptive skills...

Duration

01.2010 - 12.2013

Sinergia-Project of the Swiss National Science Foundation, no. 130457 This project examines dimensions of multilingualism that have heretofore received little attention in research. The question at the core of the project concerns how the...

Duration

01.2010 - 12.2012

Adult language acquisition (of German) has generated a great deal of scientific interest over the past decades. However, variation in input and output as a consequence of specific sociolinguistic contexts has mostly been neglected so far....

Duration

09.2008 - 04.2011

This mandate from the cantonal government in Graubünden concerned the follow-up of introducing the newly consolidated written language Rumantsch Grischun to the so-called pioneer communes in the Canton of Graubünden. The communes in question...

Duration

01.2009 - 12.2009

Chunsch druus? (Swiss German for “get it?”) is a learning programme aimed at the general, mainly younger learner who wishes to develop key linguistic competences necessary for coping with the challenges of everyday life in the German part...

Research projects (collaboration)

Duration

11.2010 - 03.2013

This pan-European project was initiated in 2010 by the British Council and aimed at developing an index in order to compare the language environment in 20 European countries. The index captures the following aspects: (foreign) language teaching,...

Publications

Pfadnavigation

Prof. Raphael Berthele

© Alan Humerose

Mitglied der Direktion

Ordentlicher Professor für Mehrsprachigkeit, Universität Freiburg

Forschungsinteressen

  • Mehrsprachigkeit besonders: Interkomprehension, rezeptive Fertigkeiten, cross-linguistic interaction
  • Kognitive Linguistik
  • Variationslinguistik
  • Folk linguistics

Forschungsprojekt (Leitung)

Dauer

04.2021 - 12.2024

Digitale Übersetzungsprogramme und Wörterbücher sind aus der Sprachverwendung kaum mehr wegzudenken. DeepL, Leo und Co. werden von ihren Nutzern rege und für unterschiedliche Zwecke eingesetzt. Die Rolle dieser Tools im Fremdsprachenunterricht...

Dauer

01.2021 - 12.2024

Wortschatz ist Grundlage für die rezeptive und produktive Sprachverwendung. In einflussreichen Spracherwerbstheorien und didaktischen Ansätzen steht der Wortschatz nicht im Gegensatz zur Grammatik, sondern ist zentraler und integrierter Bestandteil...

Dauer

11.2020 - 05.2024

Das Forschungsprojekt befasst sich mit den Ursprüngen individueller Unterschiede von Sprachbegabung, und zwar mit verschiedenen Aspekten der Sprachverarbeitung, einschliesslich, der phonologischen, lexikalischen und syntaktischen Verarbeitung...

Titel

Informationsstrukturen bei zweisprachigen Sprechenden

Sprachübergreifende Einflüsse und Sprachdominanz

Dauer

01.2017 - 12.2021

Schweizerischer Nationalfonds, Projektförderung, Projekt Nr. 176338 Ziel des Projektes ist es zu untersuchen, auf welche verschiedene Weisen Französisch, Deutsch und Italienisch Sprechende die Kohäsion ihrer Erzählungen erreichen. Unser...

Dauer

01.2017 - 03.2021

Seit den 1950er-Jahren ist die individuell unterschiedlich ausgeprägte Eignung zum Sprachenlernen Gegenstand zahlreicher Untersuchungen. Verschiedene Bereiche der Fähigkeit der Individuen, Fremdsprachen zu lernen, wurden ermittelt und unter...

Titel

Bewegung an der Sprachgrenze

Der Einfluss von Sprachdominanz und Sprachmodus auf den Ausdruck der räumlichen Bewegung bei Bilingualen (Französisch-Deutsch)

Dauer

01.2014 - 12.2017

Die Forschung zum sprachlichen Ausdruck räumlicher Relationen hat in den vergangenen 30 Jahren systematische strukturelle und lexikalische Unterschiede zwischen Sprachen herausgearbeitet. Einer dieser Unterschiede betrifft die Art, wie in...

Dauer

01.2017 - 12.2017

Die Frage der Stellung von Deutsch im Kanton und in der Stadt Freiburg beschäftigt die Öffentlichkeit schon seit Jahrzehnten. Heute sind Französisch und Deutsch als Amtssprachen des Kantons und ihr Gebrauch in der Verfassung verankert und...

Titel

Herkunftssprache und Schulsprache

Sind Sprachkompetenzen übertragbar?

Dauer

01.2012 - 12.2014

Ziel des Projekts „Herkunftssprache und Schulsprache: Sind Sprachkompetenzen übertragbar?“ war die Untersuchung potenzieller Transfers zwischen der Herkunfts- und der Schulsprache bei Schülerinnen und Schülern, die Unterricht in heimatlicher...

Dauer

01.2013 - 12.2014

Projekt durchgeführt von der Pädagogischen Hochschule Graubünden PHGR Das Projekt „Rumantsch receptiv“ war ein Projekt zur Entwicklung von Unterrichtsmaterialien für das Selbststudium und/oder die Implementation in Sprachkursen. Ziel dieses...

Dauer

01.2011 - 12.2013

Eine gemeinsame Forschungsinitiative der Gruppe Evolutionary Processes in Language and Culture und des Projekts Categories across Language and Cognition am Max Planck Institut für Psycholinguistik Nijmegen Ziel von EoSS ist es, zu untersuchen...

Dauer

01.2012 - 12.2013

Im Projekt „Italiano ricettivo“ wurde bis Ende 2013 das Unterrichtsmaterial Capito? entwickelt, das sowohl für den selbstständigen Spracherwerb als auch im Sprachunterricht eingesetzt werden kann. Ziel von Capito? ist der Aufbau von rezeptiven...

Dauer

01.2010 - 12.2013

Sinergia-Projekt des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds Nr. 130457 In diesem Projekt werden Dimensionen der Mehrsprachigkeit erforscht werden, die bisher in der Wissenschaft wenig beachtet wurden. Im Zentrum steht die Frage, wie sich Kompetenzbereiche,...

Dauer

01.2010 - 12.2012

Der ungesteuerte Zweitspracherwerb (des Deutschen) stand bereits in verschiedenen Studien im Mittelpunkt. Dennoch wurde Dialekt–Standard-Variation in Input und Output als eine Konsequenz des besonderen soziolinguistischen Kontexts weitgehend...

Dauer

09.2008 - 04.2011

In diesem Mandat begleiteten wir die Einführung der neuen Schriftsprache Rumantsch Grischun in den sogenannten Pioniergemeinden des Kantons Graubünden, in denen die für die romanischen Schulen im gesamten Kanton geplante Einführung der Einheitssprache...

Dauer

01.2009 - 12.2009

Mit der Entwicklung des Trainingprogramms Chunsch druus? soll einem breiten, v. a. jüngeren Publikum eine Methode zur Vermittlung von Schlüsselkompetenzen für das Funktionieren im Deutschschweizer Sprachalltag zur Verfügung gestellt werden....

Forschungsprojekt (Mitarbeit)

Dauer

11.2010 - 03.2013

In diesem europäischen Projekt, das vom British Council lanciert wurde, wurde ein Index entwickelt, der das sprachliche Umfeld in 20 europäischen Ländern in vergleichbarer Weise beschreibt. Der Index deckt folgende Bereiche ab: (Fremd-) Sprachenunterricht,...

Publikationen