Breadcrumb

Project management
Digital translation tools and dictionaries have become an indispensable part of language use. DeepL, Leo and Co. are used extensively and for various purposes, however, their benefits for foreign language teaching and learning remain contested. Some consider these tools to be of educational value, while others express their doubts on the sustainability of their contribution to language learning.

Project management
This doctoral thesis used qualitative research methods and adopted an exploratory-interpretative approach. Although conducted as an independent study, it forms part of the RCM project “Innovative forms of assessment (IFB)”, a quantitative study that aimed to better understand the validity of new, scenario-based task and item types.

Project management
Vocabulary is the basis for receptive and productive language use. Influential theories on second language acquisition and learning consider vocabulary and grammar to be complementary, rather than opposing elements of language. Vocabulary is viewed as an integral component of learner grammars that is worth promoting and consolidating in the foreign language classroom. In recent years, digitialisation has seen the development of many learning apps and platforms that provide new opportunities...

Language exchange activities are widely viewed as a means of promoting language and intercultural competence and as a way to motivate students to learn a foreign language. Indeed,  recently, educational policy has strengthened its commitment to advance and intensify language exchange.

Immersion and bilingual education programmes in Switzerland

A critical literature review and bibliographic database
In Switzerland, language immersion and bilingual education programmes have been both promoted and in demand for quite some time. The topic has also been the focus of numerous scholarly studies that, however, are not always known or accessible. In addition, there is a degree of uncertainty about which findings can be compared or generalised. This project aims to collect existing scholarly literature and documentation and to analyse the information according to theme.

As the question of the teaching-learning of French in vocational schools in Switzerland is under debate once again, it is essential to study and understand the place and role of French as a school discipline, a working tool and a subject of discourse in the context of vocational training. A historical perspective will be used for this purpose, since examining current issues from a historical perspective allows for a better understanding of the origins of phenomena and the factors that...

Project management
In order to conduct this PhD research, a group of 5 secondary II teachers was formed. These teachers have been trained in the task-based and intercultural approach. A "before and after" component was added to the data collection. In concrete terms: this group of teachers was observed at the beginning of the research a first time. They were then trained in task-based and intercultural teaching. This was followed by two classroom observations, the first directly after the training and...

Project management
The learner's native language(s) have an impact on second language acquisition. All speakers ‘ languages share the processes that enable their functioning and also their knowledge repertoires, such as the phonological repertoire (Flege, Bohn & Jang, 1997; Kartushina & Frauenfelder, 2014). The functioning of languages and their common repertoires can generate cross-linguistic interferences and transfers, which either hinder or facilitate second language acquisition.

Competences in French as a foreign language in the Passepartout region

A systematic evaluation of current studies on the use of Mille feuilles und Clin d'oeil
Project management
The basis of this report, commissioned by the association BERNbilingue, is a systematic evaluation of current studies on French as a foreign language lessons at primary and secondary schools that use the Mille feuilles and Clin d'oeil learning materials. The report aims to compile findings on the following three questions: 1) How well do students in the Passepartout region master the basic competences and achieve the curriculum goals? 2) How do teachers rate the Mille feuilles/Clin d'oeil...

Project management

Cooperation with Università della Svizzera italiana

Team

Marine Borel, Laura Hodel, Corinne Hunziker, Verena Tunger

This project culminates in a book in four languages that is designed for the general public. In the book, roughly 40 expressions in Rhaeto-Romanic (all idioms), Italian, German (including examples in Swiss German) and French are compared. The selected expressions have the same meaning in all languages yet employ different, sometimes amusing metaphors; humorous images from all linguistic regions are used to illustrate the expressions.

Pfadnavigation

Digitale Übersetzungsprogramme und Wörterbücher sind aus der Sprachverwendung kaum mehr wegzudenken. DeepL, Leo und Co. werden von ihren Nutzern rege und für unterschiedliche Zwecke eingesetzt. Die Rolle dieser Tools im Fremdsprachenunterricht ist indes umstritten: Einerseits wird ihnen ein pädagogischer Wert zugestanden, andererseits wird in Zweifel gezogen, ob sie das Sprachenlernen längerfristig und nachhaltig unterstützen können.

Projektleitung
Dieses Dissertationsprojekt ist qualitativ orientiert und explorativ-interpretativ ausgerichtet. Es wurde als eigenständiger Projektteil, aber ergänzend zum vorwiegend quantitativen KFM-Projekt „Innovative Formen der Beurteilung“ durchgeführt, in dem Erkenntnisse zur Validität von neuartigen, szenariobasierten Aufgaben- und Itemtypen gewonnen werden sollten.

Wortschatz ist Grundlage für die rezeptive und produktive Sprachverwendung. In einflussreichen Spracherwerbstheorien und didaktischen Ansätzen steht der Wortschatz nicht im Gegensatz zur Grammatik, sondern ist zentraler und integrierter Bestandteil von Lernergrammatiken. Aufbau und Konsolidierung von Wortschatz sind daher ein wichtiger Aspekt des Fremdsprachenunterrichts, dem durch die Digitalisierung neue Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten geboten werden.

Sprachaustausche gelten als Mittel zur Förderung sprachlicher und interkultureller Kompetenzen sowie für die Steigerung der Motivation für das Fremdsprachenlernen. Gerade in jüngster Zeit lässt sich ein verstärktes Engagement seitens der Bildungspolitik für die Verbreitung und Intensivierung von Austauschaktivitäten ausmachen.

Immersion und zweisprachige Lehrgänge in der Schweiz

Kritische Literaturübersicht & bibliografische Datenbank
Immersionsunterricht und zweisprachige Lehrgänge werden in der Schweiz seit einiger Zeit gefördert und gefordert. Zum Thema liegen bereits zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Studien vor, die jedoch nicht immer bekannt oder zugänglich sind. Zudem ist bisweilen unklar, welche Ergebnisse vergleichbar resp. verallgemeinerbar sind.

In einer Zeit, in der das Lehren und Lernen der französischen Sprache an den kaufmännischen Schulen in der Schweiz erneut zur Diskussion steht, ist es von grundlegender Bedeutung, die Entwicklung des Stellenwerts und der Rolle von Sprachen als schulische Disziplin, als Arbeitsinstrument und als Gegenstand des Diskurses im Kontext der Berufsbildung zu hinterfragen und zu verstehen. Wir nehmen eine historische Perspektive ein, da der historische Blick auf aktuelle Fragen es ermöglicht,...

Der handlungsorientierte und interkulturelle Ansatz im Fremdsprachenunterricht

Wie werden Schülerinnen und Schüler (de)motiviert, eine Fremdsprache zu lernen?
Projektleitung
Zur Durchführung dieser Arbeit wurde eine Gruppe von 5 Lehrpersonen der Sekundarstufe II gebildet, die im handlungsorientierten und interkulturellen Ansatz geschult wurden. Die Datenerhebung wurde um einen "Vorher-Nachher"-Effekt ergänzt, d.h. die Gruppe der Lehrpersonen wurde zu Beginn der Untersuchung ein erstes Mal beobachtet. Anschliessend wurden die Lehrkräfte in handlungsorientiertem und interkulturellem Unterricht geschult. Auf diese Phase folgten zwei Beobachtungen im Klassenzimmer,...

Projektleitung
Die Muttersprache von Lernenden beeinflusst den Erwerb einer Fremdsprache. Sprachen teilen nicht nur die Sprachprozesse, die sie funktionsfähig machen, sondern auch ihre Wissensrepertoires wie etwa das phonologische Repertoire (Flege, Bohn und Jang, 1997; Kartuschina und Frauenfelder, 2014). Das dynamische Funktionieren von Sprachen und ihre gemeinsamen Repertoires führen zu sprachübergreifenden Interferenzen und Transfers, die den Fremdsprachenerwerb behindern oder erleichtern....

Kompetenzen in Französisch als Fremdsprache in den Passepartout-Kantonen

Systematische Auswertung vorliegender Studien zum schulischen Französischunterricht mit Mille feuilles und Clin d'oeil
Projektleitung
Dieser vom Verein BERNbilingue in Auftrag gegebene Bericht basiert auf einer systematischen Auswertung vorliegender Studien zum schulischen Französischunterricht mit Mille feuilles und Clin d'oeil. Er verfolgt das Ziel, zu den folgenden drei Fragen Erkenntnisse zusammenzutragen: 1) Inwieweit erreichen die Schüler/innen der Region Passepartout die Grundkompetenzen bzw. die Lernziele des Lehrplans? 2) Wie schätzen die Lehrpersonen das Lehrmittel Mille feuilles/Clin d’oeil und den Unterricht...

Projektleitung

Zusammenarbeit mit der Università della Svizzera italiana

Team

Marine Borel, Laura Hodel, Corinne Hunziker, Verena Tunger

Ziel der Arbeiten war die Publikation eines für das breite Publikum gedachten Buches, in dem etwa vierzig Redewendungen auf Rätoromanisch (alle Idiome), Italienisch, Deutsch (inkl. Schweizerdeutsche Beispiele) und Französisch einander gegenübergestellt werden. Die gewählten Redewendungen weisen zwar in allen vier Sprachen die gleiche Bedeutung auf, greifen dabei aber ganz unterschiedliche Metaphern auf.