Breadcrumb

Project management

Dr. Claudia Cathomas, lic.phil. Flurina Graf, Institut für Kulturforschung Graubünden

Two-thirds of all Rhaeto-Romanic speakers live outside the Rhaeto-Romanic homeland, yet the specific linguistic conditions for Romansh speakers outside the traditional language region have not yet been studied in detail.

Project management
Team

Scientific partner: Stefano Losa, Daniela Kappler, SUPSI-DFA

This research project performs a retrospective analysis of the challenges posed by Swiss multilingualism during the Covid-19 pandemic. Continuous communication with the population is necessary in times of crisis – indeed, communication is an essential aspect of crisis management, be it to provide information about the current situation, health issues and distancing rules, or to explain work-related rights and obligations, access to emergency financial aid, and even educational matters....

Project management

Supervision
Thomas Studer

Team

(Santi Guerrero Calle research manager till August 2021)

Comparatively little research has been conducted on how adult migrants – both those with low literacy skills (non-literates) and those who have competence in a non-Latin alphabet (non-roman alphabet literates) – acquire reading and writing skills, and scholarly findings on the subject are correspondingly sparse. This condition is all the more surprising as specialist discourse on the topic of “literacy levels in adults” has long revealed that traditional differentiations between so-called...

Project management
After the positive outcome of the first Cantonal Integration Programme (CIP), the Confederation commissioned the cantons to implement the second CIP (running from 2018 to 2021). Considering that not all migrants have the same needs and requirements with regard to second language acquisition, Fribourg's offer for language courses is to be assessed as part of the second CIP. The assessment is carried out by the Institute of multilingualism, on behalf the Migrant Integration Office and...

Postcolonial encounters in globalisation

(Dis)entangling Portuguese-speaking migrant's social positionings in Switzerland
Lusophonia embraces different kind of groups and people.  If they share the Portuguese language, on the one hand, they do not share the same historical position on the other. This project on language, identity and labour migration attempts to fill the existing gap in sociolinguistic and migration studies about Lusophone postcolonial relations, but outside Portugal and its former colonies.

Project management
Team

Laura Villa (Queens College CUNY) and Jose del Valle (The Graduate Center – CUNY)

 

This collaborative project aims at moving beyond common and acritical assumptions about capitalism and language that tend to take them for granted, without sufficiently interrogating their historical development, their heterogeneous manifestations in time and space, or their complicated interrelationship. We believe instead that a thorough exploration of the co-relation of language and capitalism is needed in order to grasp how, where, why, to what extent, with what consequences, and...

Cold rush

Dynamics of language and identity in expanding Arctic economics
Project management

Sari Pietikäinen (Univ. of Jyväskylä)

Team

Monica Heller (Toronto), Maiju Strömmer (Jyväskylä), Anna-Liisa Ojala (Jyväskylä)

The Cold Rush project examines the transforming Arctic North as an expanding hotspot at the juncture of economic development and cultural transformation, focusing on the ways in which language and identity matter in these processes.

Project management

Project supervision

Literacy courses designed for adult migrants have been offered for decades in countries experiencing significant immigration. The recent past has seen an increase in research on the teaching and learning processes that are involved in successful and sustainable literacy development for adult migrants in a non-native language and that therefore should be taken into account in literacy classes; nevertheless, significant research gaps remain. Current practice in literacy development for...

New Speakers in a Multilingual Europe

Opportunities and Challenges
Project management

Bernadette O'Rourke (Heriot-Watt University Edinburgh, UK), Alexandre Duchêne (Head of working groupe "Transnational workers")

Team

Federica Diemoz (University of Neuchâtel), Matthias Grünert (University of Fribourg)

Globalisation, increased mobility and transnational networking transform the linguistic ecologies of contemporary societies. In this COST Action, the aim is to bring multilinguals into the focus of these processes by investigating the challenges and opportunities involved in acquiring, using and being understood as a “new speaker” of a language in the context of a multilingual Europe.

Project management

Supervision: Thomas Studer

There is little verified, i.e. empirically based knowledge about how second-language courses should be best designed to meet the specific needs of adult learners in low-threshold language courses. The aim of this project was to integrate didactic elements that are promising particularly for learners without a strong educational background into a course design (including course materials) suitable for daily use. In addition, the actual effects and results were compared with a course design...

Pfadnavigation

Team

Wissenschaftlicher Partner: Stefano Losa, Daniela Kappler, SUPSI-DFA

In diesem Forschungsprojekt werden retrospektiv die Herausforderungen analysiert, welche die Schweizer Mehrsprachigkeit in der Gesundheitskrise COVID-19 mit sich bringt. Eine solche Ausnahmesituation erfordert eine permanente Kommunikation mit der Wohnbevölkerung.

Projektleitung

Supervision
Thomas Studer

Team

(Projektleiterin bis August 2021)

Die Erforschung des Schriftspracherwerbs erwachsener Migrantinnen und Migranten sowohl ohne oder mit geringen literalen Kompetenzen (Analphabetinnen und Analphabeten) als auch mit Kompetenzen in einem nicht-lateinischen Schriftsystem (Zweitschriftlernende) weist nach wie vor grosse Lücken auf und wird vergleichsweise selten untersucht. Dies, obwohl aus der jahrelangen Fachdiskussion zum Thema ‘Literalitätsgrade Erwachsener’ hervorgeht, dass die herkömmliche Unterscheidung von sog. ‘Alpha-Typen’...

Projektleitung
Nach einer positiven Bilanz des ersten Kantonalen Integrationsprogramms (KIP) beauftragte der Bund die Kantone mit dem zweiten KIP (Laufzeit 2018–2021). Vor dem Hintergrund, dass nicht alle Migrantinnen und Migranten die gleichen Bedürfnisse und Voraussetzungen für den Zweitspracherwerb mitbringen, soll das einschlägige Sprachkursangebot des Kantons Fribourg im Rahmen des zweiten KIP evaluiert werden.

Postkoloniale Begegnungen in Zeiten der Globalisierung

Ver- und Entflechtungen sozialer Positionierungen von lusophonen Migrantinnen und Migranten in der Schweiz
Die Lusophonie umfasst verschiedene Arten von Gruppen und Menschen, die zwar die portugiesische Sprache, jedoch historisch gesehen nicht die gleiche Position teilen. Das vorliegende Projekt zu Sprache, Identität und Arbeitsmigration versucht, eine bestehende Lücke in der soziolinguistischen und Migrationsforschung zu postkolonialen Beziehungen zwischen Lusophonen ausserhalb Portugals und seiner früheren Kolonien zu schliessen.

Projektleitung
Team

Laura Villa (Queens College CUNY) und Jose del Valle (The Graduate Center – CUNY)

 

Diese Zusammenarbeit zielt darauf ab, über gängige und akritische Annahmen zu Kapitalismus und Sprache hinauszugehen, die oft als selbstverständlich hingenommen werden, ohne dass ihre historische Entwicklung, ihre heterogenen Erscheinungsformen in Zeit und Raum oder ihre komplizierten Wechselbeziehungen ausreichend hinterfragt werden.

Cold rush

Dynamik von Sprache und Identität bei der Expansion der arktischen Wirtschaft
Projektleitung

Sari Pietikäinen (Univ. Jyväskylä)

Team

Monica Heller (Toronto), Maiju Strömmer (Jyväskylä), Anna-Liisa Ojala (Jyväskylä)

Das Cold Rush-Projekt untersucht den sich wandelnden arktischen Norden als expandierenden Hotspot an der Schnittstelle von wirtschaftlicher Entwicklung und kultureller Transformation. Es konzentriert sich dabei auf die Frage, inwiefern Sprache und Identität in diesen Prozessen eine Rolle spielen.

Projektleitung

Projekt-Supervision

Alphabetisierungskurse für die Zielgruppe der erwachsenen Migrant/innen werden in Ländern mit einer bedeutenden Zuwanderung bereits seit Jahrzehnten angeboten. Die Erforschung der Lehr- und Lernprozesse, die bei der erfolgreichen und nachhaltigen Alphabetisierung von erwachsenen Migrant/innen in ihrer Nicht-Erstsprache eine Rolle spielen und welchen in den Alphabetisierungskursen Rechnung zu tragen ist, hat zwar in den letzten Jahren zugenommen, weist aber noch bedeutende Lücken auf....

New Speakers in a Multilingual Europe

Opportunities and Challenges
Projektleitung

Bernadette O'Rourke (Heriot-Watt University Edinburgh, UK), Alexandre Duchêne (Leiter Arbeitsgruppe "Transnational workers")

Team

Federica Diemoz (Universität Neuchâtel), Matthias Grünert (Universität Freiburg)

Globalisierung, grössere Mobilität und transnationales Networking verändern die sprachliche Ökologie moderner Gesellschaften. Im vorliegenden COST-Projekt stehen Mehrsprachige im Fokus dieser Prozesse, indem die Herausforderungen und Chancen untersucht werden, die mit dem Erwerb, der Nutzung und dem VerstandenWerden als „neuem Sprechenden“ (new speaker) einer Sprache im Kontext eines mehrsprachigen Europas einhergehen.

Projektleitung

Supervision: Thomas Studer

Es gibt wenig gesichertes, d. h. auch empirisch untermauertes Wissen darüber, wie der Zweitsprachenunterricht für das Publikum, das spezifisch in sogenannten niederschwelligen Sprachkursen anzutreffen ist didaktisch optimal gestaltet werden soll. Das Ziel dieses Projekts bestand darin, didaktische Elemente, die besonders bei wenig schulgewohnten Lernenden Erfolg versprechen, in ein alltagstaugliches Kurskonzept und entsprechende Materialien zu integrieren und deren Auswirkungen in der...

Herkunftssprache und Schulsprache

Sind Sprachkompetenzen übertragbar?
Team

Fabricio Decandio, Carlos Pestana (KFM), Magalie Desgrippes (UniFR)

Ziel des Projekts „Herkunftssprache und Schulsprache: Sind Sprachkompetenzen übertragbar?“ war die Untersuchung potenzieller Transfers zwischen der Herkunfts- und der Schulsprache bei Schülerinnen und Schülern, die Unterricht in heimatlicher Sprache und Kultur (HSK) besuchen, insbesondere hinsichtlich schriftlicher Rezeption und Produktion.