Breadcrumb

Project management
Digital translation tools and dictionaries have become an indispensable part of language use. DeepL, Leo and Co. are used extensively and for various purposes, however, their benefits for foreign language teaching and learning remain contested. Some consider these tools to be of educational value, while others express their doubts on the sustainability of their contribution to language learning.

Project management
This doctoral thesis used qualitative research methods and adopted an exploratory-interpretative approach. Although conducted as an independent study, it forms part of the RCM project “Innovative forms of assessment (IFB)”, a quantitative study that aimed to better understand the validity of new, scenario-based task and item types.

Project management
Vocabulary is the basis for receptive and productive language use. Influential theories on second language acquisition and learning consider vocabulary and grammar to be complementary, rather than opposing elements of language. Vocabulary is viewed as an integral component of learner grammars that is worth promoting and consolidating in the foreign language classroom. In recent years, digitialisation has seen the development of many learning apps and platforms that provide new opportunities...

Language exchange activities are widely viewed as a means of promoting language and intercultural competence and as a way to motivate students to learn a foreign language. Indeed,  recently, educational policy has strengthened its commitment to advance and intensify language exchange.

Immersion and bilingual education programmes in Switzerland

A critical literature review and bibliographic database
In Switzerland, language immersion and bilingual education programmes have been both promoted and in demand for quite some time. The topic has also been the focus of numerous scholarly studies that, however, are not always known or accessible. In addition, there is a degree of uncertainty about which findings can be compared or generalised. This project aims to collect existing scholarly literature and documentation and to analyse the information according to theme.

As the question of the teaching-learning of French in vocational schools in Switzerland is under debate once again, it is essential to study and understand the place and role of French as a school discipline, a working tool and a subject of discourse in the context of vocational training. A historical perspective will be used for this purpose, since examining current issues from a historical perspective allows for a better understanding of the origins of phenomena and the factors that...

Project management
In order to conduct this PhD research, a group of 5 secondary II teachers was formed. These teachers have been trained in the task-based and intercultural approach. A "before and after" component was added to the data collection. In concrete terms: this group of teachers was observed at the beginning of the research a first time. They were then trained in task-based and intercultural teaching. This was followed by two classroom observations, the first directly after the training and...

Project management
The learner's native language(s) have an impact on second language acquisition. All speakers ‘ languages share the processes that enable their functioning and also their knowledge repertoires, such as the phonological repertoire (Flege, Bohn & Jang, 1997; Kartushina & Frauenfelder, 2014). The functioning of languages and their common repertoires can generate cross-linguistic interferences and transfers, which either hinder or facilitate second language acquisition.

Competences in French as a foreign language in the Passepartout region

A systematic evaluation of current studies on the use of Mille feuilles und Clin d'oeil
Project management
The basis of this report, commissioned by the association BERNbilingue, is a systematic evaluation of current studies on French as a foreign language lessons at primary and secondary schools that use the Mille feuilles and Clin d'oeil learning materials. The report aims to compile findings on the following three questions: 1) How well do students in the Passepartout region master the basic competences and achieve the curriculum goals? 2) How do teachers rate the Mille feuilles/Clin d'oeil...

Project management

Cooperation with Università della Svizzera italiana

Team

Marine Borel, Laura Hodel, Corinne Hunziker, Verena Tunger

This project culminates in a book in four languages that is designed for the general public. In the book, roughly 40 expressions in Rhaeto-Romanic (all idioms), Italian, German (including examples in Swiss German) and French are compared. The selected expressions have the same meaning in all languages yet employ different, sometimes amusing metaphors; humorous images from all linguistic regions are used to illustrate the expressions.

Fil d'Ariane

Direction de projet
Equipe
Les outils de traduction et les dictionnaires en ligne sont devenus des éléments indispensables dans l'utilisation des langues. DeepL, Leo et Cie forment des exemples connus d’outils employés activement par leurs utilisateurs à des fins diverses. Cependant, le rôle de ces outils dans l'enseignement des langues étrangères est contesté : d'une part, on considère qu'ils ont un potentiel pédagogique, d'autre part, on doute qu'ils puissent soutenir l'apprentissage des langues à long terme...

Direction de projet
Ce projet de thèse s’appuie sur des méthodes de recherche qualitatives et adopte une approche d’exploration interprétative. Conçu comme un volet indépendant, il est néanmoins complémentaire au projet « Formes innovantes d’évaluation » (IFB), du Centre scientifique de compétence sur le plurilinguisme, qui faisait essentiellement appel à des méthodes de recherche quantitatives et visait à analyser la validité de nouveaux types de tâches et d’items basés sur des scénarios.

Direction de projet
Equipe
Le vocabulaire est à la base de l'utilisation réceptive et productive de la langue. Dans les théories sur l’acquisition/l’apprentissage du langage et les approches didactiques dominantes, le vocabulaire, loin de s’opposer à la grammaire, est un élément constitutif central et intégré de la grammaire de l’apprenant-e. L’apprentissage et la consolidation du vocabulaire jouent donc un rôle important dans l'enseignement des langues étrangères, un domaine pour la mise en œuvre duquel les technologies...

Les échanges linguistiques sont considérés comme un moyen de promouvoir les compétences linguistiques et interculturelles, et d'accroître la motivation pour l'apprentissage des langues étrangères. Depuis quelques années, les politiques éducatives renforcent leur engagement en faveur de la diffusion et de l’intensification des activités d'échange.

Immersion et enseignement bilingue en Suisse

Revue de la littérature critique & base de données bibliographique
Direction de projet
Depuis un certain temps, l'enseignement immersif et l’enseignement bilingue sont revendiqués et encouragés en Suisse. Même si de nombreuses études scientifiques existent déjà sur le sujet, elles ne sont pas toujours connues ou accessibles et il est parfois difficile de savoir quels résultats sont comparables ou généralisables. Le présent projet a pour but de rassembler la littérature et la documentation scientifique existantes, et d’en faire une évaluation thématique.

Direction de projet
À l’heure où la question de l’enseignement-apprentissage du français dans les écoles de commerce en Suisse est de nouveau en débat, il est fondamental d’interroger et de comprendre l'évolution de la place et du rôle des langues, en tant que discipline scolaire, outil de travail et objet de discours, dans le cadre de la formation professionnelle. On se placera pour cela dans une perspective historique car porter un regard historique sur des questions d’actualité permet de mieux comprendre...

L’enseignement des langues étrangères face à l’approche actionnelle et l’interculturalité

Comment (dé)motiver ses élèves à apprendre une langue étrangère ?
Direction de projet
Pour réaliser cette thèse, un groupe de 5 enseignants du secondaire II a été constitué. Ces enseignants ont bénéficié d’une formation à l’approche actionnelle et interculturelle. Un effet « avant-après » a été ajouté à la collecte des données. Plus concrètement : le groupe des enseignants a été observé une première fois au début de la recherche. Par la suite, ils ont été formés à l’enseignement par approche actionnelle et interculturelle. Cette phase a été suivie par deux observations...

Direction de projet
La langue maternelle de l'apprenant influence l’acquisition de la langue étrangère. Les langues partagent non seulement les processus langagiers qui permettent leur fonctionnement mais aussi leurs répertoires de connaissances tels que le répertoire phonologique (Flege, Bohn et Jang, 1997; Kartushina et Frauenfelder, 2014).

Les compétences en français langue étrangère dans les cantons Passepartout

Analyse systématique d'études portant sur l'enseignement du français à l'école et l'utilisation des moyens d'enseignement Mille feuilles et Clin d'oeil.
Direction de projet
Le présent rapport, commandé par l'association BERNbilingue, se base sur une analyse systématique d'études portant sur l'enseignement du français à l'école et l'utilisation des moyens d'enseignement Mille feuilles et Clin d'oeil. L'objectif du rapport est de présenter les informations permettant de répondre aux trois questions suivantes : 1) dans quelle mesure les élèves de la région Passepartout atteignent-ils les compétences fondamentales et les objectifs d'apprentissage définis dans...

Direction de projet

Coopération avec l’Università della Svizzera italiana

Equipe

Marine Borel, Laura Hodel, Corinne Hunziker, Verena Tunger

Le projet a consisté à éditer en un livre quadrilingue destiné au grand public, qui compare une quarantaine d’expres-sions en romanche (tous les idiomes), italien, allemand (dont des exemples en suisse allemand) et en français. Les expressions choisies ont la même signification dans toutes les langues, mais utilisent des métaphores différentes et parfois cocasses, illustrées avec humour par des vignettistes provenant de toutes les régions linguistiques.